Boo! Run for Life Recap

Well, I didn’t get to run a 10K.  Due to the government shutdown, the park that I was supposed to run my race in was closed.

We received an email the Thursday before the race that it was being moved and modified to a 5K.

Sunday morning I woke up bright and early at 6:25 am.  I got dressed, had a little something to eat and some water and drove in to Washington DC.  I was able to find parking pretty close to the start/finish line so that was great.  Zac tagged along too and read the paper in the car while I was running and was there to greet me at the finish line.

The course was a great, only one big hill to run up, but since the course was somewhat of a loop, that meant I was running down the hill on the way back.  Personally, I’d rather run up at the beginning than at the end!  I just love running by major landmarks too.

Boo Run for Life

I didn’t get my watch to start right as I crossed the line, so I ended up just running with the pace screen and watching for the Mile 1, 2 and 3 markers.

I am so proud of how I finished though!  I ended up with a time of 33:11, which was a pace of 10:42 per mile.  In the 5K I did last December I got a time of 34:01 so I beat my time by almost a minute!

Boo Run for Life Finish

Leave a Reply

