Veterans Day 10K

I did it!  I ran my first ever 10K and beat the goal time I had set for myself!

The Veterans Day 10K was run by Pacers Running Store.  I think they do a nice job with their races, the St. Patrick’s Day race I did in March was run by them as well.

I woke up at 6:15, got dressed and had a piece of peanut butter toast and some water.  At 7 we left and drove into DC.  We found parking fairly close in a small lot near the Tidal Basin and then walked over to the Start/Finish area.  It was a little cool in the morning so I wore an extra layer to keep warm before starting.

VD10K before

Around 7:45 the announcer called for runners to start lining up.  I found a space on the left side towards the back of the middle.  I didn’t want to start too far forward or too far back.

As the clock struck 8, the gun went off and the crowd was off and running!

VD10K Start LineThe course was mostly an out and back loop around Potomac Park, with the water station at the same point in the race (about mile 2 and 4), the front runners were already on their way back when I reached the 2 miles!  I ran the entire way to the first water stop, walked through it then and on the way back.  I also walked a little at the turnaround point and around mile 5 to switch my iPhone from Pandora over to my running playlist to put on some good pump up songs to get me to the finish.

My goal was to finish the race in around 1 hour and 10 minutes but I ended up crossing the finish line in 1:08:42!

VD10K me finishingI was so proud of my time!  I went out a little fast and ended up running the first mile in 10:15 and then settled in to around 11 minutes per mile for the remainder of the race.

I really think those extra three weeks of training made a difference in getting me ready.  In the original 10K training plan I was following, I had done long runs of 5 and 5.5 miles and the race would have been the first time running over 6 miles.  With the extra weeks I did the same 2 weekday runs of 3 miles and 2 miles and got in long runs of 5, 5.5 and 6 miles.  I will definitely keep this in mind when I create plans in the future.

Overall, the race was great.  It was sunny, not too windy and the course was really flat.

Now what to sign up for next?!

VD10K at finish line

2 thoughts on “Veterans Day 10K

Leave a Reply

